India thrash SA by 3-0 in Test Series of Freedom Trophy 2019

India thrash SA by 3-0 in Test Series of Freedom Trophy 2019

India thrashes South Africa by 3-0 in the ongoing Test Series of Freedom Trophy 2019. In the third and final test, India beat SA by an innings and 202 runs.

India thrash SA by 3-0 in Test Series of Freedom Trophy 2019

Top batsmen in this test match are Rohit Sharma and Ajinkya Rahane. Top bowlers from India are Mohammed Shami and Umesh Yadav. Rohit Sharma was declared as the Man of the Match.

Played at JSCA International Stadium Complex in Ranchi, India outplayed South Africa in a superb manner. India won the toss and elected to bat. Batting first India scored 497/9 and declared its first innings.

Batting second, South Africa were bowled out for 162 runs in their 1st innings. They were given follow-on. South Africa could not set a tough fight against India even in their second innings of follow on. They were all out for 133 runs only.

Also, read: India Vs South Africa 1st Test 2019: India beat SA by 203 runs

Indian opener Rohit Sharma scored a double century (212 runs). Another Indian Batsman Ajinkya Rahane scored a century (115 runs) along with Ravindra Jadeja scoring a half-century (51 runs)  to pile up a huge 1st innings total of 497 in 116.3 overs.

Only South African bowlers George Linde and Kagiso Rabada succeeded in picking 4 and 3 wickets respectively. Anrich Nortje and Dane Piedt took 1 wicket each.

On the Indian Side, bowlers Umesh Yadav (3 wickets), Mohammed Shami, Shahbaz Nadeem, and Ravindra Jadeja took 2 wickets each. This superb bowling performance forced the collapse of the South African batting order in the first innings for a low score.

South African batsman could not even score a double-digit number apart from Zubayr Hamza’s fighting 62 runs along with Temba Bavuma (32 runs) and George Linde (37 runs).

The poor batting saga continued even in the 2nd innings for the South African team. Theunis de Bruyn is the top scorer with 30 runs in the South African 2nd innings. George Linde (27 runs), Dane Piedt (23 runs), Dean Elgar (16 runs) and Kagiso Rabada (12 runs) are the only batsmen who have entered the 2 digits sore apart from Linde.

Indian Bowlers Mohammed Shami (3 wickets), Umesh Yadav and Shahbaz Nadeem (2 wickets each) and Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin (1 wicket each) were successful in claiming the wickets in the South African 2nd Innings of batting.

error: Content is protected !!