India Level ODI Series 1-1 After Thrashing WI In The 2nd ODI

India Level ODI Series 1-1 After Thrashing WI In The 2nd ODI

India bounced back in the second ODI against West Indies by defeating more than 100 runs. WI thrashed India in the 1st ODI by 8 wickets.

India Level ODI Series 1-1 After Thrashing WI In The 2nd ODI

India piled up a huge total batting first as the Openers K L Rahul and Rohit Sharma gave a flying start for the team. Both the openers shared a 227-runs partnership. Rahul Sharma scored his 28th ton in ODI career. Also, Rohit scored his 7th century in this year which placed him in the elite list of most number of tons scored in a year. He joined former Indian skipper Sourav Ganguly (in the year 2000) and Australian batsman David Warner (in the year 2016) who are behind Indian great batsman Sachin Tendulkar who scored 9 tons in a year. Sachin achieved this fleet in the year 1998.

In the 2nd ODI of Ind vs WI played at Dr Y S Rajasekhara Reddy Cricket Stadium, Vizag, Rohit Sharma (159 runs of 138 balls) and K L Rahul (102 runs off 104 balls). Shreyas Iyer scored a half-century. He scored 53 runs off 32 balls. The Indian skipper was out for a duck.

West Indies after winning the toss, it opted to bowl first and failed to confine Indian batsmen from scoring a huge total. Chasing a total of 388 runs to win, WI Indian batsmen to deliver the required batting skills. Though West Indian wicket-keeper Shai Hope (78 runs off 85 balls), and Nicholas Pooran (75 runs off 47 balls) tried to achieve the total, other batsmen could not deliver the same challenge while batting.

West Indian bowlers Sheldon Cottrell (2/83), Kieron Pollard (1/20), and Keemo Paul (1/57) claimed wickets. Indian bowler Kuldeep Yadav claimed a hat-trick. His bowling figures stood at 3/52. Mohammed Shami (3/39) and Ravindra Jadeja 2/74.

Rohit Sharma was awarded the Man of the Match for his stunning century performance. Wi Indies were all out for just 280 runs in 43.3 overs. India won the match by 107 runs and levelled the 3 match series 1-1. This is the 5th highest margin of win.

Third and the final match will be played on at Barabati Stadium, Cuttack on Dec 22nd 2019. This will be the Series decider match for both the teams.

error: Content is protected !!