India Vs South Africa 1st Test 2019: India beat SA by 203 runs

India Vs South Africa 1st Test 2019: India beat SA by 203 runs

India won by 203 runs in the first test match played against South Africa in the ACA-VDCA cricket stadium. Rohit Sharma was declared Man-of-the-Match.

India Vs South Africa 1st Test 2019: India beat SA by 203 runs

India took the lead 1-0 in the 3 test match series with South Africa after winning the first test match by 203 runs.


India won the toss and elected to bat first.


Dr. Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA–VDCA Cricket Stadium, Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh, India

1st Innings:

After winning the task, India elected to bat first. Openers gave a strong opening for India to build a huge total in the first Innings. India scored 502 runs in their 1st innings. Both the openers have scored centuries. Mayank Agarwal scored a double century. He scored 215 runs. Another opener Rohit Sharma scored 175 runs. India was 502/7 in 1st Innings.

South African bowler Keshav Maharaj took 3 wickets. Vernon Philander, Dane Piedt, Senuran Muthusamy and Dean Elgar took 1 wicket each.

Also, read – Pak vs SL: Hasnain Becomes Youngest To Claim T20I Hat-Trick

In the first innings, South African opener Dean Elgar scored 160 runs. Quinton de Kock scored 111 runs and Faf du Plessis scored 55 runs. No other South African batsman performed well to surpass the Indian total.

While the Indian bowlers in the 1st innings bowled decently well to contain the South African batsmen to a total 431 of runs. Ravichandran Ashwin had a key role in this success. He took 7 wickets while Ravindra Jadeja took 2 and Ishant Sharma bagged 1 wicket.

2nd Innings:

India scored a total of 323 runs by losing 4 wickets in their 2nd innings. Rohit Sharma scored another century while batting in the 2nd innings too. He scored 127 runs while Cheteshwar Pujara supported him with 88 runs.

South African bowlers Keshav Maharaj took 2 wickets while Vernon Philander and Kagiso Rabada took 1 wicket each.

South Africa batting in their 2ng innings needed 395 runs for victory failed to do so. They were all out for just 191 runs. Dane Piedt with 56 runs topped the scorecard while Senuran Muthusamy scored 49 runs and opener Aiden Markram scored 39 runs. Apart from these 3 South African batsmen, no other batsman could stay in the crease to chase the target.

Indian bowlers Mohammed Shami bagged 5 wickets along with Ravindra Jadeja claimed 4 wickets. Ravichandran Ashwin took 1 wicket.

Player of the Match:

Rohit Sharma (India Batsman) – 1st Innings 176 (224), 2nd Innings 127 (149).

error: Content is protected !!