India Beat Bangladesh By 8 Wickets in 2nd T20I

India Beat Bangladesh By 8 Wickets in 2nd T20I

Bangladesh batting first, started well with an opening partnership of 60 runs. It piled up a good total of 153 runs in their allotted 20 overs.

India Beat Bangladesh By 8 Wickets in 2nd T20I

The 2nd T20I between India and Bangladesh was played in Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot on Thursday. India won the toss and elected to field first. Bangladesh openers Liton Das (29 runs in 21 balls) and Mohammad Naim (36 runs from 31 balls) had a good 60 run partnership for the the first wicket.

Bangladesh batsmen Soumya Sarkar and Mahmudullah scored 30 runs each to set a target of 154 runs for India to win. Bangladesh lost 6 wickets in their 20 overs for 153 runs. None of the other Bangladeshi batsmen could score a good total for India to challenge.

Indian bowlers Deepak Chahar, Khaleel Ahmed, Washington Sunder took 1 wicket each while Yuzvendra Chahal took 2 wickets.

Chasing a total of 154 runs to win, India started well with an 118 run partnership between Rohit Sharma (85 runs from 43 balls) and Shikhar Dhawan (31 runs from 27 balls). Shreyas Iyer took India to victory with his knock of 24 runs from 13 balls.

India lost only 2 wickets in chasing the total. Both these wickets were claimed by the Bangladeshi bowler Aminul Islam (2/29). India reached the target in just 15.4 overs. No other Bangladeshi bowler has bowled better to restrict India from chasing the target.

Rohit Sharma was declared Man of the Match for his knock of 85 runs in his 100th T20I. This is Sharma’s 18th T20 International Half-Century. After winning the Man of the Match award, Sharma told

I never underestimate the opposition, particularly the bowlers… all these years I have only tried to do my best when I have the bat in my hand. I knew the conditions were perfect and there was no turn on offer, all I wanted to do was remain stationed and tonk the ball.

With this win India levelled the T20I Series against Bangladesh 1-1. Third and final T20I will be played on Nov.10 at Vidarbha Cricket Association Ground at Nagpur.

error: Content is protected !!